Nana Yaw Amponsah to stay as Kotoko CEO as Appeal Committee upholds application for stay of execution on Disciplinary Committee ruling


Embattled Chief Executive Officer of Asante Kotoko Nana Yaw Amponsah can continue in his capacity as the highest ranking executive officer of the Porcupine Warriors after the Appeal Committee upheld the application for stay of execution on the ruling of the Disciplinary Committee.

Last month, the Disciplinary Committee of the Ghana FA, banned the former Phar Rangers President from all football-related activities due to his position as the sole shareholder of the Akuapem-Mampong based side who have also been expelled from Ghana football for a period of 5 years.

Phar Rangers, its board of directors and shareholders were slapped with 5-year bans after the club withdrew from all league competitions in the West African nation. The judicial outcome disregarded a later letter which communicated the club’s decision to rescind their earlier decision of pulling out of the league.

The Appeal Committee chaired by Agbesi Dzakpasu has granted the application by Phar Rangers which means their directors and shareholders as well as the club can get involved in football related activities until the final determination of the matter by the appeal committee.

“The Committee’s statement read: This is a repeat application for stay Execution by Phar Rangers after the Disciplinary Committee has dismissed its application for stay of Execution of the decision of the Disciplinary Committee dated 30th June, 2021. The committee, by a majority of 4 to 1, with Mr. Abdul Aziz Musah dissenting, hereby grants the application for stay pending appeal. The majority is of the view that the appeal will be rendered nugatory if the execution is not stayed and Phar Rangers is successful with its appeal. The committee shall determine the substantive appeal on its merit soon,” the statement read.

The ruling of the Disciplinary Committee also affected the participation of Phar Rangers in the Division One League as well as the MTN FA Cup.

Follow the writer on Twitter: @Akwasiakyereko

Source link