Home News Sundowns Crowned Champions of Africa Super League

Sundowns Crowned Champions of Africa Super League

Call us

By Akosua Adjei 

South African Champions, Mamelodi Sundowns, have won the first edition of the African Football League. The final, which was played over two legs, featured Sundowns and Wydad Club. The Masandawana won 2-0 at home but lost 2-1 to Morocco, which represented a 3-2 aggregate to help them lift Africa’s newest trophy. 

The African Football League featured eight teams across the continent, including Mamelodi Sundowns, Wydad Athletic Club, Al Ahly, Esperance De Tunis, Simba, Enyimba, Petro De Luanda and TP Mazembe. All participants will receive $1 million at the quarterfinal stage. The semi-finalists, which consisted of Al Ahly, Esperance, WAC, and Sundowns, also pocketed $1.7 million. The runners-up WAC and the winners Sundowns will also receive $3 million and $4 million, respectively.

For his brilliant show of talent during the tournament, Ronwin Williams secured the goalkeeper of the tournament award.

Thapelo Maseko won the top scorer accolade with three goals as well as Player of the Tournament after displaying a standout performance throughout the six rounds of matches they played.

More stories here

Source link