Home News Four Categories fail to produce winners

Four Categories fail to produce winners

Call us

By Emmanuel Oti Acheampong

The 27th edition of the annual Ghana Journalists Association (GJA) Awards is set to come off on Sunday, October 29, 2023. The awards show is one that recognises the work and input made by Journalists within the spheres of Ghana.

This year’s edition has been met with a surprise as four categories failed to produce winners. In a press meeting with the media to announce the winners of the various awards as part of the award scheme, the chairperson of the award committee, Madam Betty Appau Oppong, mentioned that four categories in this year’s edition failed to produce winners due to their inability to meet the criteria and benchmark set for the category.

According to her, the committee was tasked within three weeks to vet the entries received and duly come up with deserving Journalists in various categories. She stated that a total of 129 entries were received, which included 15 students and 16 entries from media houses, with 34 categories to be competed for.

The categories sports, news (online), news (radio), and photojournalism missed out on nominees due to their inability to meet criteria. She stated that in the news (radio) category, there was one entry, but the nominee did not meet the criteria. The award show, which is set to come off at the Accra International Conference Centre, will be under the theme, “Leveraging Media Freedom to Sustain the Democratic and Architecture: The Litmus Test of Election 2024”.

More stories here

Source link